Categories
Uncategorized

1st April 2024 Happy Easter all.

Goodaye all, I hope you have / are having a happy Easter, got home Friday morning and here till Tuesday, a rare time off and catching up on stuff and a few truck jobs. Off midmorn early last Sunday to load and then into Melbourne, to bed, up and make a call to delivery point to confirm singles only as had not been there in a while and was fairly certain, no b-double access. Yes correct, split outside, no will do at yard, there in 25 mins.

Got there, in que undo all buckles and straps while waiting, only to go in and find, “No mate, they don’t have an account here”, so on the phone and wait for further instructions. “Sorry, delivery details out of date (You think?) take it to Searoad”, so back to yard, hook up again and off to the port. Forgot they had changed the entry point, do a half blockie and a U turn, back to choose a gate, wrong, back up, then induction out of date, please scan code. “No old phone” “Ok come round to office and do induction” and still had to do on my phone through browser.

I am nearly to the point I will start refusing to do Q code scanning and inductions on my phone. It is my data, not theirs, they won’t pay for it and I don’t see how they can not provide paper. Not everyone has a phone, let alone a smart one (and that is another debatable point) and if they want us inducted (and even the fellow I spoke with said it is just them arse covering as everywhere else), then they can provide me with paper which I will fill in and they can log it later. What do you all think?

Last week-end job was to fit my extra toolbox, just to hold all my EIP slide in codes, products and UN Numbers etc. Still looking for a slightly longer one and of course a blue one if I can find one, but that went OK. This week-end s job was to complete and finish the watertank, I had put some bolts in in a rush to fit it, then had to redrill a couple of holes and fit the round head, so less prone to getting hit etc as per photo some time ago showing the problem with dips and gutters.

Will put up a photo next week of the shiny bits and hope to have the last few soon. Last job then is the toolbox to match the watertank, will be a handmade job and could take awhile,  but such is life. Sorting a couple of things for the morning as I don’t load till the afternoon, chasing some shirts and bits for the trailers too and have to do my audiobooks page and get this done and work on some bills, so till next week, Safe Travelling, Rod Hannifey. PS ignore the chassis plate, that was the result of a driverway at Corowa and will be resolved soon.

By truckright

An Australian truckie aiming to improve both how the road transport industry is seen and understood by the public and to improve road safety for all.

Leave a comment