Categories
Uncategorized

On the 10th for the 5th Canberra Bound.

Goodaye all late note included as below. Yes well got to my DC slot a few minutes to midnight, so in time for 7 hour break and they let me sleep inside after I rang and checked, but I had tried on the way and could not update my induction. Up early next morn and another driver getting somewhat frustrated getting inducted, then me too and in the end, take this form and go. Once in, all good, then off for second drop, load and away up Sesame Street to Sydney town for Tuesday morning.

Nightshift Radio from the depot and where was I going? Double split in the morning to deliver, back down to Banksmeadow to load, held up for a couple of hours, but out eventually with load of packaged DG and to Wagga Wagga. Had a lovely smiling young lady unload me Wednesday morning after breakfast at Gumly Gumly with mate Grant Luhrs from Rig Radio days, but again, 4 truck bays in a BP truckstop on the Sturt Highway, not enough so had to park outside overnight.

Off to Melbourne load and back to the truckwash in Albury, a few qued and had to get to Coona to unload so I could get home and drive to Canberra, so off with a still dirty truck. Made it to Forbes, Caltex closed so no loo or shower, to bed. But off again Thursday morning, into Coona just before noon, hooked in with the sun and the heat and back to Dubbo to arrange list and service for following day, get a lift home, jump in daughters car and head to Canberra. In 9.30 pm, a chat, a feed got for me to be there on arrival, (thanks Craig) and a shower and in bed by midnight, but as often happens, strange bed and not a good sleep.

HVRASC meeting all day from 8 till 5, then tea and a few beers, bed after midnight, up and had planned to do some filming with young Stephen if he got home, but still on the way and I was late for a special event or two at home that happened Friday, so go and be there bit a day late.

Try to make up for Friday Sunday morning, then home and call loading point. Can I load earlier than my slot of 5PM? Yes you are booked at 1.30, sorry,  not on my plan. Well that’s earlier, what more do you want? Sorry. still in Dubbo will hookin and rush. Got there at 3.05, only to have three qued in front, another truck had been two hours late and not let them know and it was well after 6  by the time I got loaded and out, not the best way to start the week, but such is life.

I had two starts on this and simply did not get time to complete or put up, a fun week, not but OK. Will catch up later today I hope. Cheers Rod.

By truckright

An Australian truckie aiming to improve both how the road transport industry is seen and understood by the public and to improve road safety for all.

Leave a comment