Categories
Uncategorized

22nd July 2019 Work and a break.

Goodaye all. Had a short week last week, down to Melbourne and back, then truck was due for machinery, it is now 8 years old. I fixed the washers, they found one thing I didn’t know about, a leaking booster and it went back to the yard to tighten a crossmember and check a slack adjuster and the boss suggested a new set. Good idea, as some of them might still be original.

I went to Sydney with one daughter, we then stayed with another and the third arrived and we climbed Sydney Harbour Bridge for my grandsons’ eighth birthday. Some reading, a bit of shopping and time with my three daughters and three of four grandchildren. A couple of days hols while the truck was sorted and hopefully all good for tomorrow.

I had applied for funding from the NHVR to buy the current truck and trailers, but was unsuccessful with that application. They would never fund a new truck and trailers and I thought I had a good proposal for buying the current TIV and I would commit to the next 4 years and be able to earn an income, but do more than I can now, as an employed driver. Back to winning the Lotto or finding someone who will fund me or supply a truck and trailers. Never give up.

I am working on the next curtain design and imagine, this will be the last TRUCKRIGHT Industry Vehicle. I will be 62 next month, (this time last year I was in England on my Churchill Fellowship Study tour) and hope to be able to work till at least 67 (need to pay off a house), but there are simply not enough hours in the day to do it all and my family have paid too high a price so far.

So, with the help of many smaller sponsors, I still hope to have a new set of curtains and a new looking (if not new truck or trailers)TIV on the road in the new year. I plan to get into that now I have the answer from the funding application, as I was waiting to see what I could achieve if that had been successful. Congratulations to all those who did succeed and I hope each of the endeavours reach their aims and each helps drivers in one way or another. Till next week Safe Travelling, Rod Hannifey.

By truckright

An Australian truckie aiming to improve both how the road transport industry is seen and understood by the public and to improve road safety for all.

Leave a comment